close

Buy The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls in United States - Rehmie.com

The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls

REP0465 09780743247542 REP0465

Simon & Schuster

Simon & Schuster
2023-06-28 USD 15.87

$ 15.87 $ 16.71

Item Added to Cart

*Product availability is subject to suppliers inventory

The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
SHIPPING ALL OVER UNITED STATES
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
EASY 30 DAYSRETURNS & REFUNDS
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
24/7 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
TRUSTED AND SAFE WEBSITE
The Glass Castle (Reprint) (Paperback) by Jeannette Walls
100% SECURE CHECKOUT
Dimensions (Overall): 7.9 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .6 Pounds
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Biography + Autobiography
Sub-Genre: Literary, Personal Memoirs
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Scribner
Author: Jeannette Walls
Age Range: Adult
Language: English



About the Book



In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.



Book Synopsis



Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts.

MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST
The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, "nothing short of spectacular" (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world's most gifted storytellers.

The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette's brilliant and charismatic father captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn't want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.

The Glass Castle is truly astonishing--a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.



Review Quotes



"The Glass Castle is nothing short of spectacular."-- "Entertainment Weekly"

"The Glass Castle is the kind of story that keeps you awake long after the rest of the house has fallen asleep."-- "Vogue"

"Charles Dickens's scenes of poverty and hardship are no more audacious and no more provocative than those in the pages of this stunning memoir."-- "The Atlanta Journal-Constitution"

"Each memory is more incredible than the last... That Walls recounts them so well and in such detail is our good fortune."-- "The Plain Dealer"

"Extraordinary."-- "Time"

"On the eighth day, when God was handing out whining privileges, he came upon Jeannette Walls and said, 'For you, an unlimited lifetime supply.' Apparently, Walls declined His kind offer."-- "Chicago Tribune"

"Some people are born storytellers. Some lives are worth telling. The best memoirs happen when these two conditions converge. In The Glass Castle, they have."-- "New York Newsday"

"Walls has a God-given knack for spinning a yarn, and The Glass Castle is nothing short of spectacular."-- "Entertainment Weekly"

"Walls has joined the company of writers such as Mary Karr and Frank McCourt who have been able to transform their sad memories into fine art."-- "People"