close

Buy Deep Down Dark - by Hector Tobar (Paperback) in United States - Rehmie.com

Deep Down Dark - by Hector Tobar (Paperback)

REP450464 09781250074850 REP450464

Northlight

Northlight
2023-09-26 USD 21.59

$ 21.59 $ 22.73

Item Added to Cart

*Product availability is subject to suppliers inventory

Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
SHIPPING ALL OVER UNITED STATES
Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
EASY 30 DAYSRETURNS & REFUNDS
Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
24/7 CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
TRUSTED AND SAFE WEBSITE
Deep Down Dark - by  Hector Tobar (Paperback)
100% SECURE CHECKOUT
Number of Pages: 336
Genre: History
Sub-Genre: Latin America
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Picador USA
Age Range: Adult
Book theme: South America
Author: Hector Tobar
Language: English



Book Synopsis



Now a Major Motion Picture Starring Antonio Banderas
Includes New Material Exclusive to the Paperback

A Finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award
A Finalist for a Los Angeles Times Book Prize
A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

When the San Jos� mine collapsed outside of Copiap�, Chile, in August 2010, it trapped thirty-three miners beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days. After the disaster, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist H�ctor Tobar received exclusive access to the miners and their tales, and in Deep Down Dark, he brings them to haunting, visceral life. We learn what it was like to be imprisoned inside a mountain, understand the horror of being slowly consumed by hunger, and experience the awe of working in such a place-one filled with danger and that often felt alive. A masterwork of narrative journalism and a stirring testament to the power of the human spirit, Deep Down Dark captures the profound ways in which the lives of everyone involved in the catastrophe were forever changed.



Review Quotes




"Vivid, suspenseful, [and] electrifying." --People

"The equal, if the geographical inverse, of Into Thin Air." --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"Weaving together the drama of the miners' harrowing ordeal below ground with the anguish of families and rescuers on the surface, Tobar delivers a masterful account of exile and human longing, of triumph in the face of all odds. Taut with suspense and moments of tenderness and replete with a cast of unforgettable characters, Deep Down Dark ranks with the best of adventure literature." --Scott Wallace, Los Angeles Times

"Whether the story is completely new to you, or if you were one of the millions glued to the news reports and wondering, will they make it-physically, emotionally, spiritually-you'll be greatly rewarded to learn how they did." --Mac McClelland, The New York Times Book Review (Editors' Choice)

"H�ctor Tobar takes us so far down into the story and lives of the Chilean miners that his reconstruction of a workplace disaster becomes a riveting meditation on universal human themes. Deep Down Dark is an extraordinary piece of work." --George Packer

"In this masterful dissection of the 2010's dramatic sixty-nine day ordeal by thirty-three trapped Chilean miners, H�ctor Tobar weaves a suspenseful narrative that moves back and forth between the waking nightmares of the buried men, and those of their families on the earth's surface. In Deep Down Dark, H�ctor Tobar takes us deftly to the very cliff-edge of human survival." --Jon Lee Anderson

"It's almost hard to believe that H�ctor Tobar wasn't himself one of the trapped Chilean miners, so vivid, immediate, terrifying, emotional, and convincing is his Homeric narration of this extraordinary incident. Deep Down Dark is a literary masterpiece of narrative journalism, surgical in its reconstruction, novelistic in its explorations of human personality and nuance. In a manner that feels spiritual, Tobar puts himself at the service of his story, and his fidelity to and unquenchable curiosity about every fact and detail generates unforgettable wonderment and awe." --Francisco Goldman

"A gripping narrative, taut to the point of explosion." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken." --Ann Patchett, People

"An account that brims with emotion and strength." --USA Today

"A powerful tale of universal interest." --The Christian Science Monitor

"That Tobar has so vividly reconstructed a life-threatening event remembered differently by thirty-three minds is a mountainous feat of reportage." --The Washington Post




About the Author



H�ctor Tobar is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and a novelist. He is the author of The Barbarian Nurseries, Translation Nation, and The Tattooed Soldier. The son of Guatemalan immigrants, he is a native of Los Angeles, where he lives with his wife and three children.